Rabat Process


The Euro-African Dialogue on Migration and Development, otherwise known as the Rabat Process, seeks to create a framework for dialogue and consultation that can address the challenges raised by the West African migration route.

Functioning of the Rabat Process

Since 2006, this Process brings together more than 50 European and African countries from North, West and Central Africa, as well as the European Commission and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). Through this framework, the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) can intensify its migration dialogue with both the European Union and African states.

The three pillars of the Rabat Process

The Rabat Process serves to implement concrete initiatives on the basis of the following three pillars:

  • Organising legal migration
  • Combating irregular migration
  • Strengthening the synergies between migration and development


Last modification 25.07.2016

Top of page